An Ode to Insomnia

Some poetry, written because I can’t sleep.

An Ode to Insomnia

Sleep eludes,
It hides its face from me.
I call out to it, but it ignores me.
I struggle and fight for it,
But that just drives it further away.

Why sleep do you have to run?
Why sleep do you leave me awake?
Why sleep do you keep dreams from me?

Struggling with sleep,
Not counting sheep.
Sleep would be keen,
But I’m unable to dream.

What doe it mean? What does it mean?

Sleep abides,
It holds its peace from me.
I cry out for it, but it mocks me.
I scribble and write for it,
But that just keeps it wandering astray.

Why sleep do you have to run?
Why sleep do you leave me awake?
Why sleep do you keep dreams from me?

Tymen

Leave a Reply

