Hot Games, part deux

“Games people play,
You take it or you leave it
Things that they say,
Honor Brite
If I promise you the Moon and the Stars,
Would you believe it
Games people play in the middle of the night.”

The Alan Parsons Project “Games People Play”

So, I’m taking a break from Poetry selection for my Go Fund Me project
(Check it out here)  to work on my Blades in the Dark ‘* Angel hack (I must follow where my Muse leads me, or she might stop showing up altogether), With One Wing Dipped in Blood. I’ve been slowly tinkering with it, right now I’m just Angel-fying the terminology of the component parts, to evoke the nature of the game. (For example, Stress being divided into Purity and Corruption, that’s a sneak peak for you.) And then Avery Alder‘s
Monsterhearts 2 dropped on Kickstarter and reminded me of even more games I want to play. So, in a follow-up to my last post on gaming, Games without Frontiers, here are even more games I desperately want to play.

Monsterhearts
So, obviously Avery Alder’s Monsterhearts is the first one to come up, because of the Kickstarter mentioned above. Play Teenage Monsters in High School and suffer through all the darkness that entails, but also be empowered by it. Be Buffy (the Vampire (S)layer), be Bella Swan (from Twilight), be Stefan or Damon Salvatore (from The Vampire Diaries), Be Scott McCall (from Teen Wolf), be any number of teenage Ghosts or Ghouls and deal with your teenage angst. So, want to play this again.

Ribbon Drive
Also by Avery Alder, this awesomely cool rpg about road-trips, combines two of my favourite things. Music and Story-Telling, each player makes a mixed cd and you use that to guide the narrative of the road-trip in question. I so much want to play this game, because the premise and execution seem so cool.

Headspace
A Cyberpunk Shared Consciousness rpg, Blade Runner meets Sense8; it’s an oh, so cool powered by the Apocalypse Cyberpunk game created by my friend Mark Richardson. That’s reason enough for me to want to play.

Leverage
A heist crew rpg by Margaret Weis Productions based off of the great tv show of the same name. A cortex system game with some cool crew and complication mechanics, and builds the twist into play. That’s the second crew game on my list to play.

That’s four more games added to my to play list.

*John Harper (One Seven Design), creator of Blades in the Dark, check out his Patreon.

Leave a Reply

